A bequest from Van Beuningen - De Vriese occasioned the building
of the pavilion for Museum Boijmans - Van Beuningen. The extension
is situated on the southern side of the main building (designed by
Van der Steur in 1935), at the beginning of a 250 metre-long,
impressive axis of symmetry.
The pavilion, connected to the main building by means of a transparent corridor, comprises two floors. The basement houses the vast, pre-industrial collection of studies and a series of work rooms, and functions as the pied de stalle for the four-metre-high, transparent exhibition hall, intended chiefly for a series of temporary exhibitions about Industrial Design.
By being exhibited here, everyday objects such as a toothbrush, a bike, a knife or a skateboard, are elevated to iconic status for a brief moment in time. On the pond side the hall, with its curved façade, protrudes over the edge of the basement. On the entrance side the floors are interconnected by an atrium in which a lift and the stairway are also integrated. The southern orientation makes heavy demands on the climate control.
The ingress of daylight and sunlight is reduced by means of a four-metre deep overhang. In 1999 the upper hall in the pavilion was altered - the exhibition space became a museum café.
1988 - 1989
The Municipality of Rotterdam, by order of Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen
ABT, Adviseurs in Bouwtechniek
Raadgevend Technisch Buro Van Heugten
Nominated for the Mies van der Rohe European Award for Architecture 1992
3015 CX Rotterdam